Writing Guild Call for a New Member

Wanted: one new member for the Thunder Bay Writers Guild. The Guild is a well-established writing group of 12 members who meet monthly to critique each other’s work and to support and encourage each other in the writing process.

Requirements: to be actively writing and able to produce a polished piece of work (fiction or non-fiction, not poetry) to be critiqued every few months. Able to attend meetings at the college on the 2nd Monday of each month.

Interested? Please send 2 pieces of your work (fiction or non-fiction—between 1,500 - 3,000 words, no poetry) to Jack Shedden at no5rdnorth@gmail.com

Deadline: Wednesday 31st October 2018

Great Opportunity for Writers

Great Opportunity for Writers
For more information, see article below

Sunday, November 1, 2015

Guy Vanderhaeghe Winner of the Governor General's Award for Fiction

Guy Vanderhaeghe
Guy V. is one of my favourite authors ever since I read The Englishman's Boy. And how nice to have a short story collection winning the GG.  Hope, one day, he can come to Thunder Bay. Congratulations Mr. Vaanderhaeghe!!.  I am Russian to buy  Daddy Lennin toute suite.  Joan  M. Baril

Guy Vanderhaeghe is the winner of the 2015 Governor General's Literary Award for fiction for his short story collection Daddy Lenin and Other Stories.
Daddy Lenin and Other Stories is the author's first short story collection in over 20 years. Of the collection, the jury - which was comprised of Jen Sookfong Lee, K.D. Miller and Jeffrey Moore - said:
"Each story is superbly crafted, razor-sharp, wickedly funny. The reader is carried along in the hands of a master, a seasoned professional at the top of his game."
The finalists and winners are chosen by a committee of peers. In 2015, 970 titles were submitted for the 7 English-language categories. The winners each receive $25,000 and will be celebrated at a gala event at Rideau Hall later this year. The Governor General's Literary Awards are presented by the Canada Council for the Arts.
The English-language winners are:

No comments:

Post a Comment