Spain Remembers

Spain Remembers

Tuesday, May 18, 2010


~Award Winners~
At the Literary Awards Party on May 15, NOWW bestowed the following awards:

Elizabeth Kouhi Award:
Hazel Fulford.
For a list of Hazel’s books, check out the NOWW Books page:

Sheila Burnford Award:
The Sleeping Giant Writers Festival.
For this year’s slate of invited speakers, go here:

Winners of the 2010 NOWW Writing Contest~
To everyone who entered the contest: congratulations! Submitting work is an important part of the writing process. Thank you for participating.

1st: Elizabeth Campbell, Keewatin, “Bedrock
2nd: Jim Foulds, Thunder Bay, “I Never Got to Work for My Father”
3rd: Bonnie Tittaferrante, Thunder Bay, “Frog and Snake”

1st: Holly Haggarty, Thunder Bay, “Three Speech Acts”
2nd: Elizabeth Creith, Thessalon, “The Wheel of the Year—Four Sonnets”
3rd: Elizabeth Pszczolko, Nolalu, “Winter Bones”

Children’s Story
1st: Judith Johansen, Fort Francis, “Picker’s Kid”
2nd: Eleanor Albanese, Thunder Bay, “Nonno’s Nickel”
3rd: Bonnie Tittaferrante, Thunder Bay, “The Amida Tree

Flash Fiction
1st: Elizabeth Creith, Thessalon, “Dark Chocolate”
2nd: Jack Shedden, Thunder Bay, “Dreaming in Black”
3rd: Sue Blott, Thunder Bay, “Stan, My Man

1st: John Pringle: Atikokan: Fresh Snow,
2nd: Roy Blunstrom Thunder Bay: "Polly"
3rd: Roy Blonstrom Thunder Bay: "Last Game of Hearts". 
Look for the first-place winners in the June issue of NOWW Magazine.

John Pringle, First plce, fiction

No comments:

Post a Comment