Spain Remembers

Spain Remembers

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Louise Penny and Alan Bradley Pick up Awards.

Louise Penny has won an Agatha, one of the world’s top English-language mystery writing awards, for the third time in a row.

She was awarded the 2009 Agatha for best novel for The Brutal Telling at the awards banquet during the annual Malice Domestic convention. Last year she won for The Cruelest Month. Big congrats Louise.

Louise lives in Quebec but once was a Thunder Bayer working at the College and CBQ. So we count her as a northerner and she says it is OK with her.

Canadian author Alan Bradley, who is also a finalist for the ArthurEllis Awards, took the 2009 award for the best first novel for his bestseller, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. This entertaining mystery has, as detective, the young Flavia who leaps on her bike and peddles off to look for clues.  Great fun.

No comments:

Post a Comment